Dhaka, Sunday, October 02, 2022


International : Trump sees 'brilliant potential' for N.Korea as summit prep continues *** Brazil lowers diesel price after truckers' pressure ***   |   

Ihsanul, Zahid elected president, secy of IIMC Alumni Association

DHAKA, May 20, 2018 (BSS) - Prime Minister's Press Secretary Ihsanul Karim and Chief News Editor of Channel i Zahid Newaz Khan have been elected President and General Secretary respectively of Indian Institute of Mass Communication (IIMC) Alumni Association, Bangladesh.

The committee was formed here yesterday at a general meeting of the IIMC alumni who were fellows of the IIMC, New Delhi since 1978, said a press release here today.

Ihsanul Karim was the first Bangladeshi fellow of the IIMC (1978-79) while Zahid Newaz Khan a fellow in the year 2000.

Other office bearers of the association are Vice President Azizul Islam Bhuiyan (Editor, Bangladesh News) and M Rahmat Ali (Consultant, the World Health Organization), Joint General Secretary Angur Nahar Monty (Joint News Editor, News24) and Treasurer Ranjan Sen (News Editor, Ekushey TV).

Three executive members are Nazrul Islam Mithu (Bangladesh Correspondent, DPA), Wares Hossain (Senior Assistant Secretary, National Parliament Secretariat) and Naznin Akter Tonni (Senior Sub Editor, Prothom Alo).

Indian High Commission in Dhaka later congratulated the new committee of the alumni association.

First Secretary of Indian High Commission in Dhaka Rajesh Uika, Press Attache Ranjan Mondal and Press Officer Vishal Jyoti Das congratulated the new committee.

The IIMC, founded by the then Indian Information and Broadcasting Minister Indira Gandhi on August 17, 1965, is India's prime educational institution on mass communication and media.

Headquartered in New Delhi, it has five centres in Dhenkanal (Odisha), Aizawl (Mizoram), Amravati (Maharashtra), Jammu (Jammu & Kashmir) and Kottayam (Kerala).

Bangladeshi fellows-- journalists and government officials-have been participating in the IIMC courses in New Delhi since 1978. The fellows included leading journalists of Bangladesh.